Skip to Content

Awards 2008

Parliamentarian of the Year Awards Recipients 2008

Awards Recipients 2008

20 November 2008

12:00 AM

20 November 2008

12:00 AM

Awards Recipients 2008

Newcomer of the Year:
Lord Mandelson
Secretary of State for business, enterprise and regulatory reform, and president of the Board of Trade

Inquisitor of the Year:
Rt Hon Frank Field
Labour MP for Birkenhead

Peer of the Year:
Baroness Manningham-Buller
A crossbench life peer and former director-general of MI5

Speech of the Year:
Diane Abbott
Labour MP for Hackney North and Stoke Newington

Resignation of the Year:
Rt Hon David Davis
Conservative MP for Haltemprice and Howden and former shadow home secretary

Minister to Watch:
Rt Hon Ed Miliband
Labour MP for Doncaster North and Secretary of State for energy and climate change

Campaigner of the Year:
Ben Wallace
Conservative MP for Lancaster and Wyre and shadow minister of state for Scotland

The Readers’ Representative Award:
Nadine Dorries
Conservative MP for Mid Bedfordshire

Parliamentarian of the Year:
Dr Vincent Cable
Liberal Democrat MP for Twickenham and the party’s main economic spokesperson

Politician of the Year:
Mayor Boris Johnson
Mayor of London, former Conservative MP for Henley and former editor of The Spectator

Show comments