Do these 83 MPs understand how no-deal Brexit works?

Do these 83 MPs understand how no-deal Brexit works?
Text settings

This morning a group of more than 200 MPs from several parties made waves by penning a letter to the Prime Minister, urging her to rule out Britain leaving the European Union without a deal. In the text, they argued that a ‘mechanism that would ensure a no-deal Brexit could not take place’ would have the support of parliament.

That may be so, but Mr Steerpike was curious to note how few of the MPs who signed the letter seem to actually understand the Brexit process. Unfortunately for them, unless an alternative is actively proposed – such as revoking Brexit or accepting May’s deal – no deal can't be ruled out, as it will happen by default as laid out by the Article 50 process. So unless these MPs suggest an alternative Brexit route – which they haven't – their protestations are meaningless.

And of those MPs who signed the letter today, how many voted to trigger the Article 50 notice, setting Britain on this path to no deal which they now realise they can't stop? Here is Mr S's list of the 83 MPs who both signed the letter, and voted for Article 50:

Liz McInnes

Gill Furniss

Sir David Crausby

John Hayes,

Gerald Jones,

Siobhain McDonagh

Matthew Pennycook

Steve Reed,

Barbara Keeley

Valerie Vaz

Nick Thomas-Symonds

Carolyn Harris

Seema Malhotra

Vernon Coaker

Holly Lynch

Louise Haigh

Jonathan Reynolds

Caroline Flint

Frank Field

David Hanson

Mark Pawsey

Nicky Morgan

Richard Graham

Robert Neill

Heidi Allen

Sir Nicholas Soames

Anna Soubry

Antoinette Sandbach

Dominic Grieve

Ian Austin

Christian Matheson

Richard Burden

Jeremy Lefroy

Jonathan Djanogly

Mark Garnier

Oliver Heald

Jim Cunningham

Khalid Mahmood

Alison McGovern

Steve McCabe

Ruth Smeeth

Julie Elliott

Emma Reynolds

Kevan Jones

Alex Cunningham

Anna Turley

Sharon Hodgson

Colleen Fletcher

Helen Goodman

Mark Tami

Liam Byrne

Justin Madders

Jon Cruddas

Robert Goodwill

Bridget Phillipson

Shabana Mahmood

Edward Vaizey

Justin Tomlinson

Jess Phillips

Chris Elmore

Lisa Nandy

Debbie Abrahams

Clive Betts

Diana Johnson

Phil Wilson

Gareth Thomas

Ian C. Lucas

Adrian Bailey

Bill Esterson

Wes Streeting

Paula Sherriff

Clive Efford

Karin Smyth

John Stevenson

Stephen Kinnock

Sir Oliver Letwin

Dr Sarah Wollaston

Ms Harriet Harman

Ms Angela Eagle

Yvette Cooper

Toby Perkins

Nic Dakin

Helen Jones

Barry Sheerman

Written bySteerpike

Steerpike is The Spectator's gossip columnist, serving up the latest tittle tattle from London and beyond. Email tips to