Peter Hoskin

Will the Brits have a date with Oscar?

Will the Brits have a date with Oscar?
Text settings

After its victory at the Golden Globes – and its strong showing in the Bafta nominationsI suspected that the British film Atonement would be a shoo-in for the Best Picture Oscar in February.  Now the Oscar nominations have actually been announced, I’m not too sure. 

Not only are the American films No Country for Old Men (recommended by the Spectator on, count ‘em, onetwothree occasions) and There Will Be Blood leading the pack with eight nominations each, but the director of Atonement, Joe Wright, hasn’t been nominated for Best Director.  Academy voters like to link the Best Picture and Best Director in their minds, and the absence of a Wright’s name next to a checkbox will detrimentally influence their opinion of Atonement more generally.  If so, Brits will have to pin their hopes elsewhere – with Daniel Day-Lewis (Best Actor, There Will Be Blood) and Julie Christie (Best Actress, Away From Her) being the folks most likely to bring Oscar to these shores.

For what it’s worth, here’s my should-win/will-win list for the main awards:

Best Picture

Should win: There Will Be Blood  

Will win: There Will Be Blood

Best Director

Should win: Paul Thomas Anderson (There Will Be Blood)  

Will win: Paul Thomas Anderson (There Will Be Blood)

Best Actor

Should win: Daniel Day-Lewis (There Will Be Blood)   

Will win: Daniel Day-Lewis (There Will Be Blood)

Best Actress

Should win: Marion Cotillard (La Vie En Rose)  

Will win: Julie Christie (Away From Her)

Best Supporting Actor

Should win: Javier Bardem (No Country for Old Men)   

Will win: Javier Bardem (No Country for Old Men)

Best Supporting Actress

Should win: Tilda Swinton (Michael Clayton)   

Will win: Cate Blanchett (I’m Not There)

Best Foreign Language Film

Should win: 12  

Will win: The Counterfeiters

Best Animated Film

Should win: Can’t decide between Persepolis and Ratatouille   Will win: Ratatouille

Fingers crossed that I won’t be disappointed when the winners are announced on 24 February.