Spectator Parliamentarian of the Year, in pictures

Spectator Parliamentarian of the Year, in pictures
Text settings

Even by recent standards, 2019 was an eventful year in Westminster. It began with deadlock in Parliament and it was unclear whether we would ever leave the EU, and ended with a Brexit breakthrough, a new prime minister, and even a general election – with mass defections, serial resignations and all the usual machinations along the way. So, it was perhaps with a sense of relief that politicians headed to The Spectator's Parliamentarian of the Year awards tonight, to toast the politicians who made an impact, and celebrate that the year is finally over.

The guest of honour at tonight's awards was the indefatigable ex-Defence Secretary Penny Mordaunt, who started the proceedings off by gently ribbing the former Chancellor Phillip Hammond, noting that 'given his reputation for being able to rain on any parade, suck the oxygen out of the room and put a dampener on things, civil contingencies are about to deploy him to Australia'.

While Nigel Farage, when accepting the award for disruptor of the decade, assured the Westminster village that 'unless this Government drops the ball, and I don’t think it will, you will never, ever see me again'.

Here are a selection of photographs from the event, courtesy of Alan Chapman and Anne Schwarz:

Kay Burley
Robbie Gibb, Kate Andrews and James Forsyth
Andrew Rawnsley, Iain Duncan Smith and Priti Patel
Julia Hartley Brewer, Rocco Forte and Ruth Porter
Lara King, Danielle Wall, Emma Byrne and Linda Nelson
James Cleverly and Nerissa Chesterfield
Freddy Gray and Douglas Murray
Martha and Matt Hancock
Sarah Baxter and Greg Hands
Jo Coburn and Penny Mordaunt
Nicky Morgan and James Forsyth
Nigel Farage and Jacob Rees-Mogg
Stephen Bush and Katy Balls
Robbie Gibb, Nick Robinson and Priti Patel
Simon Walters and Lara King
Rocco Forte, Ruth Porter, Graham Brady and Julia Hartley Brewer
Owen Paterson, Trevor Kavanagh and Iain Duncan Smith
Kit Malthouse, Victoria Atkins and Harry Cole
Nick Robinson, Diane Abbott and Cindy Yu
Nigel Farage and Jacob Rees-Mogg
Penny Mordaunt
Ian Levy and Penny Mordaunt
John Bercow
Penny Mordaunt and Nigel Farage
Julian Smith and Penny Mordaunt
Luciana Berger, Penny Mordaunt and Anna Soubry
Penny Mordaunt and Michael Gove
Priti Patel and Penny Mordaunt
Written bySteerpike

Steerpike is The Spectator's gossip columnist, serving up the latest tittle tattle from Westminster and beyond. Email tips to

Topics in this articleSociety