Peter Hoskin

Coalition wins fees vote with a majority of 21

Text settings

The final tally was 323 in favour of lifting the cap on tuition fees from £3,290 to £9,000 a year, with 302 against. The second vote, on raising the basic cap to £6,000, passed with the same majority. Although we don't know the divisions yet, we can safely say that it's the biggest rebellion of this Parliament so far – the lowest government majority until today was 51.

UPDATE 1: 28 Lib Dems voted with the government; 21 against; and 8 either didn't vote or abstained. This is the biggest Lib Dem rebellion since the party was founded.

UPDATE 2: Six Tories voted against the government:

Andrew Percy (Brigg & Goole)

David Davis (Haltemprice and Howden)

Philip Davies (Shipley)

Mark Reckless (Rochester and Strood)

Jason McCartney (Colne Valley)

Julian Lewis (New Forest East)

And two abstained:

Tracey Crouch (Chatham & Aylesford)

Lee Scott (Ilford North)

Here's the list of Lib Dem rebels:

Annette Brooke (Dorset Mid & Poole North)

Sir Menzies Campbell (Fife North East)

Michael Crockart (Edinburgh West)

Tim Farron (Westmorland & Lonsdale)

Andrew George (St Ives)

Mike Hancock (Portsmouth South)

Julian Huppert (Cambridge)

Charles Kennedy (Ross, Skye & Lochaber)

John Leech (Manchester Withington)

Stephen Lloyd (Eastbourne)

Greg Mulholland (Leeds North West)

John Pugh (Southport)

Alan Reid (Argyll & Bute)

Dan Rogerson (Cornwall North)

Bob Russell (Colchester)

Adrian Sanders (Torbay)

Ian Swales (Redcar)

Mark Williams (Ceredigion)

Roger Williams (Brecon and Radnorshire)

Jenny Willott (Cardiff Central)

Simon Wright (Norwich South)

UPDATE 4: And the LIb Dem abstentions:

Lorely Burt (Solihull)

Martin Horwood (Cheltenham) [away in Cancun]

Simon Hughes (Bermondsey & Old Southwark)

Chris Huhne (Eastleigh) [away in Cancun]

Tessa Munt (Wells)

Sir Robert Smith (Aberdeenshire West and Kincardine)

John Thurso (Caithness, Sutherland & Easter Ross)

Stephen Williams (Bristol West)