Tom Goodenough

Full list: the 30 Tory MPs who backed Letwin’s Brexit amendment

Full list: the 30 Tory MPs who backed Letwin's Brexit amendment
Text settings

MPs have decisively backed Oliver Letwin's amendment, handing them control of the parliamentary timetable on Wednesday in order to hold a series of indicative votes on Brexit. The cross-party amendment was voted through by 329 votes to 302. Three Tory ministers – Steve Brine, Richard Harrington and Alistair Burt – resigned in order to back the amendment. A total of thirty Tory MPs rebelled against the Government on tonight's motion.

The decision by MPs to back Letwin's plan is a further major blow to the authority of the Prime Minister. Earlier, Brexit secretary Steve Barclay said the amendment is 'unprecedented in its nature'. But Theresa May has insisted that the Government will not be bound by any indicative votes on Brexit that do take place on Wednesday.

Here is the full list of Tory MPs that voted against the Government tonight:

Guto Bebb, Richard Benyon, Nick Boles, Steve Brine. Alastair Burt, Ken Clarke, Damian Collins, Alberto Costa, Jonathan Djanogly, George Freeman, Damian Green, Justine Greening, Dominic Grieve, Sam Gyimah, Richard Harrington, Jo Johnson, Phillip Lee, Jeremy Lefroy, Oliver Letwin, Paul Masterton, Andrew Mitchell, Nicky Morgan, Bob Neill, Sarah Newton, Mark Pawsey, Antoinette Sandbach, Nick Soames, Caroline Spelman, John Stevenson, Ed Vaizey