The Spectator

Full list: the MPs backing Boris Johnson’s deal

Full list: the MPs backing Boris Johnson’s deal
Text settings

After a remarkable turnaround, Boris Johnson succeeded in brokering a Brexit deal with the European Union last week. Now, he has the difficult task of navigating it through the House of Commons.

On Saturday, Boris Johnson pulled a vote on his deal, after MPs backed Oliver Letwin's amendment, which forced the government to ask for an extension, even if a Brexit deal had been backed by the House of Commons.

On Monday, the government will therefore hold a new meaningful vote on the deal to begin the ratification process. To win the vote, Boris needs the backing of 320 MPs – a majority in Parliament. There are currently 288 Tory MPs in the Commons which means the PM needs the support of 32 non-Tories if he wants to hit that magic target of 320. The DUP have said they will not vote for the deal.

Below are the opposition MPs who have indicated they will back Boris’s deal:

  1. Ed Vaizey (ind)
  2. John Mann (lab)
  3. Oliver Letwin (ind)
  4. Ronnie Campbell (lab)
  5. Nicholas Soames (ind)
  6. Stephen Hammond (ind)
  7. Jim Fitzpatrick (lab)
  8. Kevin Barron (lab)
  9. Nick Boles (ind)
  10. Alistair Burt (ind)
  11. Graham Stringer (lab)
  12. Margot James (ind)
  13. Richard Benyon (ind)
  14. Ian Austin (ind)
  15. Frank Field (ind)
  16. Caroline Nokes (ind)
  17. Sarah Champion (lab)
  18. David Gauke (ind)
  19. Melanie Onn (lab)
  20. Stephen Lloyd (ind)
  21. Ruth Smeeth (lab)
  22. Caroline Flint (lab)
  23. Gareth Snell (lab)
  24. Kenneth Clarke (ind)
  25. Amber Rudd (ind)
  26. Steve Brine (ind)
  27. Greg Clark (ind)
  28. Charlie Elphicke (ind)
  29. Ivan Lewis (ind)
  30. Rory Stewart (ind)
  31. Lisa Nandy (lab)
  32. And here are the MPs who voted against the Letwin amendment on Saturday, and so are likely to back Boris Johnson's deal on Monday as well:

    1. Richard Harrington (ind)
    2. Kelvin Hopkins (ind)
    3. John Woodcock (ind)
    4. There is also a risk that Boris’s own MPs may vote against his deal. For every Tory who rebels, the PM will need another opposition MP (in addition to the 32) to replace them. But on Saturday's vote, no Tories rebelled on the Letwin amendment – suggesting all of the ERG's Brexit Spartans will back the deal.

      Spotted any changes or updates? Please contact