The Spectator

Full list: the MPs backing the Tory leadership candidates

Full list: the MPs backing the Tory leadership candidates
Text settings

The Tory leadership has two stages: MPs will choose two finalists from what might be more than a dozen candidates, a process that should take about ten days. Then the final two will embark on a five-week campaign to win over the 125,000 Conservative Party members.  If Boris Johnson makes it into the second stage, it is widely predicted that he will be selected by local members – making the first part of the race crucial.

Coffee House will be tracking which Conservative MPs are backing which leadership candidates in the race. As the number of entrants in the field reduces, expect big swings as MPs switch their allegiances once their favourites have been knocked out.

Here are the MPs who have publicly declared their support so far:

Boris Johnson: 15 Gavin Williamson, Johnny Mercer, Peter Bone, Gareth Johnson, Karl McCartney, Jacob Rees-Mogg, Nadine Dorries, Simon Clark, Nigel Adams, John Whittingdale, Conor Burns, Andrew Rosindell, David Jones, Zac Goldsmith, Sheryll Murray.

Dominic Raab: 7

Helen Grant (expected to join the Raab campaign, after resigning as vice chair for communities) Suella Braverman, Maria Miller, David Davis, Chris Green, Nadhim Zahawi, Robert Syms

Sajid Javid: 5 

Rob Halfon, Chris Philp, John Glen, Chris Skidmore, David Evenett

Esther McVey: 5  Pauline Latham, Ben Bradley, Gary Streeter, Phillip Davies, Scott Mann

Michael Gove Mel Stride (campaign manager), Ed Vaizey, Tom Tugendhat

Matt Hancock: 2 Stephen Hammond, Bim Afolami

Steve Baker: 1 (almost) Mark Francois - has said he would be “quite tempted” to vote for him

Andrea Leadsom: 0

Heather Wheeler: 0

Jeremy Hunt: 0

Rory Stewart: 0

Penny Mordaunt: 0

Please send any additions to the list to