David Blackburn

Next year’s Booker judges

Text settings

The panel of judges for next year’s Booker Prize has been announced. It will be chaired by former chief-Spook Dame Stella Rimington. Rimington’s largely candid biography Open Secret gives a very privileged insight into the momentous events of the later 20th Century; and, apparently, her thrillers are a superior treat for a beach holiday too.

Joining her are ex-MP Chris Mullin (of whose diaries more than enough has been said), the Telegraph’s literary editor Gaby Wood, and former Spectator Editor, writer and journalist Matthew d’Ancona. And, of course, Susan Hill, who needs no introduction to readers of the Spectator.

That panel will, I think, produce a diverse longlist. Congratulations to all, and prepare for the slog.