Steerpike Steerpike

Spectator Parliamentarian of the Year 2023, in pictures

James Cleverly enjoys the awards

Looking back, 2023 didn’t have all of the fireworks that the previous 12 months brought. As December fast approaches, both Rishi Sunak and Keir Starmer remain in post – a change from 2022 and the year of four Chancellors, three premiers and two monarchs as well. But at this year’s Spectator Parliamentarian Awards, the gossip was in full flow this evening as the great and the good descended on London’s Rosewood Hotel to mix and mingle.

Among those in attendance were Home Secretary James Cleverly and his recently-axed predecessor Suella Braverman, with Jon Ashworth, Peter Kyle and Grant Shapps among those spotted by Mr S. ‘All political careers end in hosting The Spectator awards,’ began Sajid Javid as tonight’s Master of Ceremonies. Suella Braverman stole the headlines with an intriguing acceptance speech in which she took aim at No. 10 for disrupting her migration plans.

A full list of the winners can be found below:

Survivor of the Year: Grant Shapps

Inquisitor of the Year: Darren Jones

Politician to Watch: Wes Streeting

Campaigner of the Year: Peter Kyle

Speech of the Year: Theo Clarke

Political Moment of the Year: Gillian Keegan

Disrupter of the Year: Suella Braverman

Rising Star of the Year: Claire Coutinho

Peer of the Year: Baroness Falkner

Comeback of the Year: Lord Cameron of Chipping Norton

Parliamentarian of the Year: Harriet Harman

Darren Jones wins Inquisitor of the Year
Suella Braverman and Sajid Javid
James Forsyth, Freddy Gray, Lara Prendergast and Kate Andrews
Harriet Harman wins Parliamentarian of the Year
Peter Kyle wins Campaigner of the Year
Theo Clarke takes Speech of the Year
Suella Braverman wins Disruptor of the Year
Fraser and Linda Nelson
Rael and Suella Braverman and Konstantin Kisin
Andrew Rawnsley and David Davis
Baroness Stowell, Baroness Finn, Henry Newman and John Whittingdale
Gavin Williamson and Kate Andrews
Cindy Yu and James Forsyth
Kate Andrews and Andrew Neil

Harry Cole and Sebastian Payne
Sajid Javid and Claire Coutinho
Beth Rigby, Harriet Harman, Jess Phillips and Katy Balls
Susie and James Cleverly

Already a subscriber? Log in

Keep reading with a free trial

Subscribe and get your first month of online and app access for free. After that it’s just £1 a week.

There’s no commitment, you can cancel any time.


Unlock more articles


Written by

Steerpike is The Spectator's gossip columnist, serving up the latest tittle tattle from Westminster and beyond. Email tips to or message @MrSteerpike

Topics in this article


Don't miss out

Join the conversation with other Spectator readers. Subscribe to leave a comment.

Already a subscriber? Log in