David Blackburn

The Cabinet takes shape

The Cabinet takes shape
Text settings

New Cabinet Ministers are arriving at their offices. I’ll update this as the day unfolds and we expect 5 Lib Dems to sit in Cabinet, but here’s the order of battle as it stands:

Prime Minister: David Cameron

Deputy PM: Nick Clegg

Chancellor: George Osborne

Foreign Secretary: William Hague

Home Secretary (And Minister for Women and Equality): Theresa May

Justice Secretary: Ken Clarke

Business and Banking: Vince Cable

Health Secretary: Andrew Lansley

Education: Michael Gove

Scottish Secretary: Danny Alexander

Work and Pensions: Iain Duncan Smith

Defence Secretary: Liam Fox

Energy and Climate Change Secretary: Chris Huhne

Chief Secretary to the Treasury: David Laws

Attorney General: Dominic Grieve

Transport: Philip Hammond

Communities: Eric Pickles

Tory Party Chairman: Baroness Warsi

DEFRA: Caroline Spelman

Cabinet Office: Francis Maude

Culture, Olympics, Media and Sport: Jeremy Hunt

International Development: Andrew Mitchell

Chief Whip: Patrick McLaughlin

Another notable appointment is Sir Peter Ricketts's assumption of the role of National Security Advisor. As I understand it, Ricketts and his team are entirely apolitical. Does this herald the end of the SpAd's dominance.