John Connolly

The full list: MPs voting for and against May’s Brexit deal

The full list: MPs voting for and against May’s Brexit deal
Text settings

It’s the question that’s on everyone’s lips this week in Westminster: now that the Brexit negotiations have been finalised by the EU, will Theresa May be able to get her withdrawal agreement through the House of Commons?

So far, the numbers are not in her favour. Labour have confirmed they will whip against her deal, as have the SNP and other opposition parties. Meanwhile the DUP have said they will vote against the proposal – rather than just abstain. That means even if Theresa May could count on complete party loyalty in the upcoming meaningful vote, she would still be four votes short of the 320 needed for a majority.

Unfortunately for her, there are already plenty of MPs on her side unhappy with the deal and willing to rebel. Over 90 Tories have indicated that they will vote against the agreement, and only a handful of Labour and Lib Dem MPs have even suggested that they might vote for it. To have any chance of this bill passing, May either needs to convince a large number of Labour MPs to support her plan, or get her Tory rebels to change their minds.

To measure how likely it is that this will happen, we will be keeping track on Coffee House of the Conservative MPs who have said they are voting against May’s deal (those not on the list are voting for), and the opposition MPs who have said they will support it (the opposition MPs not on the list are voting against):

The Conservative MPs who have suggested they will vote againt May's deal:

  1. Lucy Allan
  2. Heidi Allen
  3. Sir David Amess
  4. Richard Bacon
  5. Steve Baker
  6. John Baron
  7. Guto Bebb
  8. Crispin Blunt
  9. Peter Bone
  10. Ben Bradley
  11. Suella Braverman
  12. Andrew Bridgen
  13. Conor Burns
  14. Bill Cash
  15. Maria Caulfield
  16. Rehman Chishti
  17. Tracey Crouch
  18. Sir Christopher Chope
  19. Simon Clarke
  20. Damian Collins
  21. Robert Courts
  22. Philip Davies
  23. David Davis
  24. Nadine Dorries
  25. Steve Double
  26. Richard Drax
  27. James Duddridge
  28. Iain Duncan Smith
  29. Charlie Elphicke
  30. Nigel Evans
  31. David Evennett
  32. Michael Fabricant
  33. Michael Fallon
  34. Mark Francois
  35. Marcus Fysh
  36. Zac Goldsmith
  37. James Gray
  38. Chris Green
  39. Justine Greening
  40. Dominic Grieve
  41. Sam Gyimah
  42. Rob Halfon
  43. Mark Harper
  44. Johnny Mercer
  45. Trudy Harrison
  46. (Arise, Sir) John Hayes
  47. Gordon Henderson
  48. Philip Hollobone
  49. Adam Holloway
  50. Ranil Jayawardena
  51. Sir Bernard Jenkin
  52. Andrea Jenkyns
  53. Boris Johnson
  54. Jo Johnson
  55. David Jones
  56. Daniel Kawczynski
  57. Sir Greg Knight
  58. Pauline Latham
  59. Phillip Lee
  60. Sir Edward Leigh
  61. Andrew Lewer
  62. Julian Lewis
  63. Julia Lopez
  64. Tim Loughton
  65. Craig Mackinlay
  66. Anne Main
  67. Scott Mann
  68. Stephen McPartland
  69. Esther McVey
  70. Stephen Metcalfe
  71. Nigel Mills
  72. Andrew Mitchell
  73. Damien Moore
  74. Anne-Marie Morris
  75. Sheryll Murray
  76. Matthew Offord
  77. Neil Parish
  78. Priti Patel
  79. Owen Paterson
  80. Sir Mike Penning
  81. Mark Pritchard
  82. Will Quince
  83. Dominic Raab
  84. John Redwood
  85. Jacob Rees-Mogg
  86. Laurence Robertson
  87. Andrew Rosindell
  88. Douglas Ross
  89. Lee Rowley
  90. Grant Shapps
  91. Henry Smith
  92. Royston Smith
  93. Anna Soubry
  94. Bob Stewart
  95. Sir Desmond Swayne
  96. Hugo Swire
  97. Sir Robert Syms
  98. Derek Thomas
  99. Ross Thomson
  100. Michael Tomlinson
  101. Anne-Marie Trevelyan
  102. Shailesh Vara
  103. Martin Vickers
  104. Theresa Villiers
  105. Giles Watling
  106. John Whittingdale
  107. Bill Wiggin
  108. Sarah Wollaston

The opposition MPs who may support May's deal:

  1. Caroline Flint (Lab): "if a reasonable deal is on the table, the question for my Labour colleagues is why wouldn't you support a deal?"
  2. Kevan Jones (Lab): “I would not support no deal because that would be disastrous both for my constituents and the country.”
  3. Stephen Lloyd (Lib Dem): "I also made a promise during the campaign that I would not support calls for a second referendum, and would support the final negotiated deal the Prime Minister brings back to the Commons."
  4. John Mann (Lab): “At the moment no-deal is probably the most likely outcome, the idea that you can sideline and discount no-deal doesn’t seem to be very credible”
  5. John Woodcock (Ind): "But how exactly does parliament guarantee stopping no deal when a deal requires agreement from both sides, parliament is gearing up to reject what’s currently on offer and we are scheduled to leave on 29 March 2019?"

Opposition MPs who look set to disappoint Theresa May:

  • Lisa Nandy had been talked up as a Labour MP who could back May's deal. However, on Sunday she said she could not – unless the future trade political declaration was changed: 'It's inconceivable now that when this comes before Parliament in just a few day's time that I'll be voting for it. I won't be voting to support the Withdrawal Agreement.'
  • Gareth Snell had suggested that he would vote for May's deal so that Labour did not become "the midwife to a no-deal Brexit baby" but confirmed today that "I can’t support a deal that fails to meet the expectations of the referendum."
  • Ruth Smeeth also confirmed that she would not support May's agreement, after indicating that she wanted to avoid no deal last week.