Alex Massie

The I XI

Text settings

So, this series has so far featured teams skippered by:  Armstrong, Benaud, Constantine, DexterEdrichFry, Gower and Hutton. Now it's Imran's turn to stroll onto the field.

1. Frank Iredale (AUS)

2. KC Ibrahim (IND)

3. Ijaz Ahmed (PAK)

4. Inzamam-ul-Haq (PAK)

5. Asif Iqbal (PAK)

6. Imran Khan (PAK) (Capt)

7. Imtiaz Ahmed (PAK) (Wkt)

8. Ray Illingworth (ENG)

9. David Ironside (SA)

10. Jack Iverson (AUS)

11. Bert Ironmonger (AUS)

Country representation in the series so far: England 35, Australia 19, West Indies 12, Pakistan 10, India 9, South Africa 8,  New Zealand 5, Zimbabwe 1.

No New Zealanders or Sri Lankans or West Indians were available for selection while only two "I" South Africans have played test cricket. Thank heavens for Pakistan then, whose players ride to the rescue and without whom this team would be dangerously thin. As matters stand it remains a selection that may be considered more interesting than it is daunting.

Written byAlex Massie

Alex Massie is Scotland Editor of The Spectator. He also writes a column for The Times and is a regular contributor to the Scottish Daily Mail, The Scotsman and other publications.

Topics in this articleSocietycricket