Coffee House

Who said they would vote against vaccine passports?

Who said they would vote against vaccine passports?
(Photo: UK Parliament/Jessica Taylor)
Text settings

Note: This article was written in advance of Tuesday's vote. For a full list of those who actually did – or didn't – rebel to vote against vaccine passports, please click here.

On Tuesday, a vote will be held on Boris Johnson's new Covid restrictions to tackle the Omicron variant. They will include vaccine passports for large gatherings, compulsory face masks in more places,  and people being asked to work from home when they can (but told they can still go to parties).

When the health secretary Sajid Javid introduced the measures in the Commons this week, he was greeted with jeers and calls for him to ‘resign’ from his own party members. There is now a growing backbench rebellion against the government’s proposals, with numerous MPs publicly denouncing the winter restrictions, which they feel are a step too far in a society protected by what Boris Johnson once called the ‘huge wall of immunity’ from vaccines.

Below is the full list of Tory MPs who have so far promised or indicated they will vote against the measures. The list will be updated ahead of the vote. At present, it looks as if Johnson will need Labour's support to pass his measures.

1. Steve Baker

2. Ben Bradley

3. Brendan Clarke-Smith

4. Graham Brady

5. Philip Davies 

6. Richard Drax

7. Simon Jupp

8. Stephen McPartland

9. John Redwood

10. Greg Smith

11. Dehenna Davison

12. Marcus Fysh

13. Gary Sambrook

14. Pauline Latham – no vote recorded

15. William Wragg

16. Geoffrey Clifton-Brown

17. Iain Duncan Smith

18. Christopher Chope

19. Craig Tracey

20. Robert Syms

21. Anthony Mangnall

22. Greg Clark

23. Esther McVey

24. Liam Fox

25. David Davis

26. Mark Jenkinson

27. Alicia Kearns

28. Mark Harper

29. Darren Henry – no vote recorded

30. Steve Brine

31. Craig Mackinlay

32. Simon Fell – no vote recorded

33. Andrew Bowie – no vote recorded

34. David Warburton

35. Siobhan Baillie

36. David Jones

37. Tom Randall

38. Ben Spencer

39. Andrew Rosindell

40. Charles Walker

41. Douglas Ross – no vote recorded

42, Karl McCartney

43. Anne Marie Morris

44. Johnny Mercer – no vote recorded

45. Tom Tugendhat

46. Richard Fuller

47. Giles Watling

48. Desmond Swayne – no vote recorded

49. Andrew Bridgen

50. Andrew Lewer

51. Christian Wakeford

52. Adam Afriyie

53. Julian Sturdy

54. Peter Bone

55. Chris Grayling

56. Chris Green

57. Tim Loughton

58. Tracey Crouch

59. Miriam Cates

60. Jackie Doyle-Price

61. Lee Anderson

62. Jonathan Djanogly

63. Mark Francois – no vote recorded

64. Jill Mortimer – no vote recorded

65. Tobias Ellwood

66. Scott Benton

67. Henry Smith

68. Matt Vickers – no vote recorded

69. John Hayes

70. Mike Penning

71. Mark Pawsey

72. Nus Ghani

73. Chris Loder

74. Shaun Bailey

75. Robbie Moore

76. Philip Hollobone

77. Tom Hunt

78. Robert Goodwill – voted for it

79. Jo Gideon

80. Harriett Baldwin

81. Damian Green

82. Andrew Percy

83. Edward Leigh

84. Damien Moore

85. Royston Smith – voted for it

86. Derek Thomas

And here are the Labour MPs who have declared they will vote against:

1. Emma Lewell-Buck