The Spectator

Full list: the Tory MPs rebelling against the government

Full list: the Tory MPs rebelling against the government
Text settings

The full list of Tory MPs who rebelled against the government in tonight's vote is here.

This week is shaping up to be the ultimate battle between parliament and Number 10, as rebel MPs attempt to stop a no-deal Brexit in law before parliament is prorogued next week.

On Tuesday the rebels are expected to table an emergency motion to seize control of the parliamentary timetable, and if they succeed, they will then put forward an anti-no deal bill and try to rush it through the House of Commons and Lords.

It is likely that several Tory MPs will rebel against the government on Tuesday, to give parliament the opportunity to stop no deal. But the costs have never been higher for them. As James Forsyth revealed this weekend, Boris Johnson has promised that any MP who votes against the government on Tuesday will be barred from standing at the next election and expelled from the party.

Coffee House will be keeping track of rebel Tory MPs leading up to the crunch vote on Tuesday. Below are those who have promised to rebel, and those who are likely to do so.


Antoinette Sandbach:

'I feel so strongly about this that I'm prepared to put my job on the line for my constituents.'

Dominic Grieve:

'If he [Boris Johnson] wishes to behave in the fashion that he has suggested and to remove the whip from Conservative members of parliament... it's certainly not going to change my mind as to what I should do'

David Gauke

Caroline Nokes

Sam Gyimah

Philip Hammond

Nicholas Soames

'I will be voting against the Govt tonight with a very heavy heart. I don't doubt Boris wants to get a deal, but I do not believe he has the means to will the end. His demands are unreal and I cannot condone no deal'

Alistair Burt

Standing down at the next election

Stephen Hammond

Richard Harrington

Standing down at the next election

Guto Bebb

Oliver Letwin

Philip Lee

Has joined the Lib Dems

Rory Stewart

Justine Greening

Standing down at the next election

Keith Simpson

Standing down at the next election

Potential to rebel:

Sam Gyimah

Kenneth Clarke

Greg Clark

Steve Brine

Ed Vaizey

Caroline Spelman

Sarah Newton

Ann Milton

Jonathan Djanogly

Simon Hoare

Paul Masterton

Margot James

Richard Benyon